Improvise with the C scale with Video

I am adding a new feature to my lessons here – a video to work with.

Please let me know how you like this – is the sound sufficient? Can you see what I am doing?

THE C SCALE

This is a basic C scale. You can start from the high note (3rd fret on the A string) or the low note (open C string). Practice going up and down, then you can improvise as you wish.

In this video, I play the scale for you, then play a C chord and an Am (minor) for you repeatedly for a couple of minutes so you can practice your scale and improvisation along with it.

Keep it simple and clean. Once you have this down well, I can show you many more little tricks to make it sound even better.

7 Responses to “Improvise with the C scale with Video”

  1. Chuck Buchanan Says:

    Great lesson Rhan. The backing track is especially nice to have. That’s such a great way to practice on your own.

    I’m looking forward to those little tricks.

    Chuck

  2. Jeff / Humble Uker Says:

    Very good stuff Rhan. I am letting readers of Humble Uker and Humble Baritonics know about your offerings here.

    My question combines the information of this post and one earlier where you showed that the F-scale had the exact same layout as this C-scale. I have the dumb question of what order would you play them in? Similarly, the relative minor of C is Am: would you play an Am scale in a different way?

    • Rhan Wilson Says:

      Not a dumb question at all, Jeff.
      Looking back, I believe the post you are referring to mentioned that one can play the C scale over most of the chords in a song in the key of C: C, F, and Am for instance.

      I picked the two chords: C and Am, to show you two things: one, to give you something to play the scale over, but also to show you how to practice playing chords and rhythm for someone else. Take the time to just play two chords, but play them cleanly and evenly, moving on only when you have them the way you really want them.

      For these two chords, there is no particular order that needs to be considered.

      Let’s keep it simple for now, as this could easily jump into more technical areas.

      I will demonstrate other situations soon.

  3. Carola Bundy Says:

    VIDEO is a wonderful addition.
    Thank you for your generosity in offering these free lessons!
    Love it.
    Carola

  4. Marilyn Norberg Says:

    For some reason, I can’t see the video-don’t know if my computer is blocking it?? I can see the c scale doodles, just not the video. Any suggestions?

    • Rhan Wilson Says:

      Marilyn,
      I don’t know what could be the problem. Is anyone else having trouble viewing the video. Marily – can you see the other videos? I have three in total up as of now.

Please post your comment or question here: