I Don’t Care What the Audience Thinks

Perhaps you’ve have you heard the phrase, “You opinion is none of my business.”

In personal life, we can take that to mean that we needn’t let other people’s opinions based on their life’s experience, influence how we conduct ourselves.

In musical life – as an artist – I follow a similar mindset. The music I craft and present to an audience is a reflection of who I am and what I value. To ask for feedback and/or opinions is a can of worms I don’t wish to open.

Imagine asking 10 different people what they think about what you’re wearing. Depending on who you ask, you could get 10 different opinions, varying from “it’s wonderful!” to ” I don’t like it at all,” and anything in between. Who are you going to listen to?

If I were to ask a happy hour crowd what they wanted me to play, I could get a variety of answers, depending on who I asked. The woman who just got off of work and wants to party would want me to play something fast and familiar so she could dance and sing along. The older man who popped in for an afternoon beer might want a country western song. Another person might only want to hear happy songs, as they were just adjusting to life after a nasty divorce. Someone else might not like any music at all – they just came in to watch the game and want the TV turned up all the way.

If I wanted to be a “people pleaser” – who would I please? I could try to satisfy all their needs – compromise – but no matter what I did I could not please everyone.

And – oh yeah – there is that other opinion that mattered… MINE! The most important opinion in the room is that of the artist – the one who is on stage and is there to create! By following my heart – my intuition – I am playing the best music I can at that time and by doing so, I will attract listeners who like what I am doing. Little by little, gig by gig, I will attract a larger and larger audience of people who love my music. Those that don’t care for my choices will find another musician that better serves their needs and they both will be the better for it.

But what about constructive feedback? What’s wrong with seeking out some honest, helpful comments about your presentation? Nothing – but consider this:

I read something very helpful in a book about wealth. It said “If you want financial advice – don’t ask your parents or your friends… ask someone who knows. Ask someone who is wealthy!”

So, if you want advice about your music – ask someone who has already achieved a certain amount of success. Ask other musicians who present a similar stage presence and who have gathered a large following. Ask someone who you admire what their secret is.

Don’t change what you do – learn how to do it better!

Please post your comment or question here: