Fingerpicking on the Uke – Part 2

Greetings to all.
I want to welcome all the new subscribers and encourage you to read as much of these tutorials as you can. If you already have read them, read them again now and then to refresh your memory and see how much you have learned and didn’t even realize! (That happens and it’s good to pat ourselves on the back now and then.)

To follow up on the last post where I start you out on fingerpicking, I offer this slight modification.
I am going to try to type out what I am doing here, but to really understand what I am saying, I think you should watch the video.

Using letters representing the string(s) I am picking, GCEA, I will, in parenthesis, tell you what fingers I am using to pick them with. T= thumb, 1=first finger, 2=second finger.

GA (T, 2)

(rest)

C (T)

E (1)

G (T)

A (2)

C (T)

E (1)

repeat.  (Watch the video. It will make more sense, I am certain.)

Practice this over and over with any chord, but don’t get hung up with worrying if you are doing it “right”. The idea is to create a pattern, repeat it, and develop coordination in your right hand. There is no one way to do it, and as a matter of fact, combine this second variation with the first one I taught you and make that a new combination.

Then, as you get better and better, and don’t have to think about what you are doing, you can modify these patterns even more to include specific notes on the left hand to create melodies.

But let’s don’t get ahead of ourselves. Have fun, be patient, and let these ideas seep deep into your brains. Soon, you will be fingerpicking like you were born fingerpicking!

4 Responses to “Fingerpicking on the Uke – Part 2”

  1. webzurfer Says:

    Hi Rhan. I have watched this video several times and have practiced. Again, I really love your approach to teaching the basics. As I re-read the words today, I think you goofed with this posting. Where you discuss the GCEA and fingers T, 1, 2 you never mention using the Finger 1. It is all written with Thumb and second finger. I think anybody watching the video would quickly figure that out, but just want to post this in case you want to correct it… again, thank you for your help. /// David, Portland Or.

    • Rhan Wilson Says:

      I made a mistake? That can’t be!!! I will check it out and see what the problem is. Thank you so much for writing and being involved.
      Rhan

      Ah yes, I corrected the text. I used the first finger for the E string.
      Thanks.

  2. harriet hilker Says:

    You have an uplifting joy-filled way to teach us and since its
    uncommon that a real-live accomplished musician can do
    this, I just wanted to acknowledge the humility in which you do
    your thing…… we are the lucky ones and yet you get to enjoy
    being Rhan …..way to go.

    Long intro to say the way you follow up class with these
    e-mail perks is especially helpful for the older brains that
    don’t always “get it” one time round.

    Slow but stoked newbie Harriet

  3. Sue Becker Says:

    Hi Rhan,
    I have watched the videos and am practicing the fingerpicking. Very fun, indeed. I really like how you teach . It is so clear and then actually doable. I can feel my confidence coming up. And following up the class with these tips is so helpful in reinforcing what we learn in the class. I am challenged , yet hopeful I can improve and have even more fun when I play.

Please post your comment or question here: