How to be a better “strummer” – revised.

I often get asked to teach my students how to play different “strums”.

My answer is always the same – learn your rhythm, and you will have countless “strums” at your disposal. It’s like the saying, “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.” Teaching someone a “strum” without explaining how rhythm works is like handing someone a Swiss Army knife and only showing them one of the many tools it contains. (I hope by now, you all know how much I like analogies!)

So I have created a “Strumming Worksheet” and an explanatory video to help you practice your strumming, while learning a bit about rhythm along the way.
Then, using this system I have created, I can more easily increase the difficulty of the strums and you will be sailing along with the best strummers.

Download and print this worksheet by clicking on the link below:
Strumming Practice Worksheet

and then watch this video:

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to “How to be a better “strummer” – revised.”

  1. Jackie Goodreau Says:

    Thank you , very helpful.

  2. Edward Bordallo Says:

    I really enjoy your thoughts about music and am grateful for your efforts. Thank you very much. Do you not have a dark side that you can talk about?

    In the spirits of life-long learning and continuous improvement, I think when you say “metaphor” in your first paragraph you really mean “analogy”

    cheers.

    • Rhan Wilson Says:

      Edward,
      Thank you for that correction. Yes, I had been using the wrong term – perhaps because I like the sound of metaphor better than that of analogy, but that’s no reason to misuse the word. I use it correctly now.

      But what I really want to know – is what has you thinking of my dark side and wanting me to talk about it? I’ve never been asked that before, and I am intrigued.

      Rhan

  3. georgette reynolds Says:

    Hi, so happy I went to your class when I was out of town and now I have these videos you put together so well,thank you so much.georgette

  4. Steve Says:

    Very clearly presented. Thank you
    Keep em coming

  5. PLUCking Ukes – Rhythm Without Blues « People of Lewisham's Ukulele Club Says:

    […] See also his lessons on: Put some “feel” into your strumming!; How to be a better “strummer” – revised […]

  6. webmasterpluc Says:

    That’s really useful & very clearly explained. Thanks very much.

    Jeanette

  7. William Kelly Says:

    Thank you. I have not tried it out yet, but just from watching your video I know that it is going to make a big difference for me. Metaphors or not. Your explanations always come across very clear and concise, thus making it understandable to me. As I got a new drum the other day, I have been working on rhythm and I do believe that it is also going to be of great assistance. Once again thank you, your lessons are always fantastic.
    Bill

Please post your comment or question here:

