Introduction.

It's about having patience while learning rhythm.Welcome to the first entry in my new online space for rhythm and music articles. I hope I can help explain some of the simpler aspects of playing music – whether you are a beginner uke or guitar player, a hand drummer, or anyone who wants to look at rhythm and music from my point of view.

As I go through the day, sometimes an idea will come to me about how I might explain something, and rather than write it out, I draw a picture with a retractable Sharpie (they are so cool) on a blank index card. Then, when I look at that card later, I can easily remember what it was that I wanted to talk about. Just like I am doing now.

I hope you enjoy my writings and please, feel free to comment.

9 Responses to “Introduction.”

  1. Susette Dawson Says:

    This post is encouraging to this newbie uke-player. I have become a compulsive counter since I began my musical journey while not really understanding why, or even questioning why. It seems I’m mentally counting everything nowadays.

    Lately, while sitting on the patio of the corner frozen-yogurt shop during a late night escape someone suddenly asked me, “What are you in such deep thought about?” Surprised back into reality I answered, “Oh, I’m not, I’m just counting”. I think the song playing was by Lady Gaga or some similar artist I’m not familiar with. It was the count I was looking for, and it was hard to find!

    And then yesterday, in a 50’s style hamburger joint, an oldie but goodie song was playing and I couldn’t find the 1,2,3,4 count so common for that genre. Finally I found 1,2,3, pause, 1,2 – repeatedly through the whole song. hmmm…..???

    The post sorta’ made me feel I’m right where I should be. So, I’ll be back. 😉

    Thanks -s

    but i don’t know how to subscribe yet. TBD

  2. Rhan Wilson Says:

    Jeffrey,

    Thank you so much for asking. I have been so busy with my upcoming Christmas show – busy for much of the year in fact – that I have neglected posting regularly.
    No excuses! I must doodle soon.

  3. Jeff / Humble Uker Says:

    Hey — I miss your posts. Have you forsaken this brilliant idear my friend?

  4. Topher Says:

    Rhan,

    I like your thoughts, and your ways of expressing them. I will point some of my students here, if that’ OK with you.

    Thank you!

    Topher

    • Rhan Wilson Says:

      Of course, Topher – please do. And please remember to ask them to subscribe so they can be notified when I add new material. To subscribe, just follow the instructions on the right hand side of the page.

  5. Bob Rasmussen Says:

    Aloha Rhan,
    What a great beginning for this blog (the first one I’ve ever read, I might say, with regrets to “el jefe”). Great encouragement and the tips are right on. I stumbled (quite literally) on the tip about walking/playing as I was walking down to Capitola to play one Sunday, and found that I could remember, play and sing a song (Friend of the Devil) without having to read it from the book. What a concept! I’ve done it several times now, and it’s amazing how it coaxes the right rythm, chords and breathing so organically.
    As one of those who has recently begun to get over the musical I can’ts (can’t play, can’t sing, can’t dance, etc, I look forward to reading new entries, and enjoying the pearls that you have cast among us.
    Mahalo

  6. Regina Bartlett Says:

    Rhan~

    Thanks for sharing this blog.
    Great information explained so clearly!
    You share your light so amazingly
    Hats off to you!

  7. rhanw Says:

    Thank Jeff.
    I say “from my point of view” because I want you all to realize that are many ways to think of music, and I am certain that if you asked different musicians the same thing, you would get different answers.

    True, there are certain absolutes, but I hope to be speaking of the way I “feel” music, and therefore it is open to interpretation. Hey, it’s worked for me!

  8. Humble Uker / El Jeffe' / or just plain Jeff Says:

    Rhan:

    I have the highest regard for your straightforward and creative way of working on music. During your Uke U class I learned so much about music, working with others, and ways to approach being on stage. I like your thought process about this notecard concept. What a great teaching idea. I use my blog as a storage place for things I find of interest and want to keep track of. I think that as a music teacher you can use this notecard concept as a reference for your students. I know that I will be looking to follow along.

    As I read he introductory statement I wondered what you meant when you said, “…or anyone who wants to look at rhythm and music from MY POINT OF VIEW.” And I thought to myself, what is his point of view? Or how does this point of view catch the new reader?

    I have only known you over the last two years. I know that you have a wealth of knowledge on a few instruments and music is your life. I know that you teach with kindness and passion. You are a creative rebel and like to challenge audiences. You are also a creator of an annual festivity (Altared Christmas) and fantastic member of the band ROMP.

    I do want to hear what you have to say!

Please post your comment or question here:

